Episode 038 : Dr. Francis Gonzales-Garcia

Introducing Dr. GG

Frances Gonzalez-Garcia, Ph.D., is a children’s and literacy advocate that has been in the education sector for 18 years with experience including that of a classroom teacher, Master Reading Teacher, District Job Embedded Trainer, Adjunct Instructor, Reading Clinic Assistant, Reading Specialist and Independent Educational Consultant.

Currently, Dr. Gonzalez-Garcia serves as the K-5 ELAR and Dyslexia Coordinator for Boerne Independent School District working in collaborative efforts with district Content Coordinators, Special Education/504 Directors, K-12 teachers and administrators, Literacy Leaders, Dyslexia Specialists and community members.

She is an active presenter for local, state and national conferences and has been recognized for her efforts in education by being named the national recipient of the International Literacy Association/MyOn Legends in Literacy Award along with being the state recipient of the H.E.B. Excellence in Education Award in Elementary Leadership.

Her professional interests include multiple metacognitive approaches, dyslexia, technology, reading/writing motivation, teacher education and leadership education.

Contact Info:

Twitter handle: @FrancesLGarcia

Blog: www.teachalacarte.com

Website: Trinity Elite Education & Co.  www.trinityeliteeducation.com

Email: francesgonzalezgarcia@gmail.com

Recommended Resources:

 International Literacy Association (ILA)

Association for Supervision & Curriculum Development (ASCD)

National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)

International Society for Technology (ISTE)

Top 30 Favorite Twitter Handles to Follow in Education:

  1. Nell Duke @nellduke
  2. Douglas Fisher @DFISHERSDSU
  3. Alec Couros @courosa
  4. George Couros @gcouros
  5. Alan November @globalearner
  6. Sir Ken Robinson @SirKenRobinson
  7. Alfie Kohn @alfiekohn
  8. Harvey “Smokey” Daniels @smokeylit
  9. Laura Robb @LRobbTeacher
  10. Nancy Steineke @nsteineke
  11. Peter Dewitt @PeterMDeWitt
  12. Todd Whittaker @ToddWhitaker
  13. Tony Wagner @DrTonyWagner
  14. Michael Fullan @MichaelFullan
  15. Jim Knight @jimknight99
  16. Linda Darling-Hammon @LDH_ed
  17. Steven W. Anderson @web20classroom
  18. Jennifer Gonzalez @cultofpedagogy
  19. Todd Nesloney @TechNinjaTodd
  20. Scott McLeod @mcleod
  21. Joyce Valenz @joycevalenza
  22. Kasey Bell @ShakeUpLearning
  23. Vicki Davis @coolcatteacher
  24. Tony Vincent @tonyvincent
  25. Cris Tovani @ctovani
  26. Jana Eschevarria @Jechev
  27. Penny Kittle @pennykittle
  28. Troy Hicks @hickstro
  29. Jennifer Seravallo @JSeravallo
  30. Regie Routman @regieroutman

Episode 018: Jennifer Eckert

Jennifer Eckert

Jennifer Eckert:

Jennifer started her career in teaching as a third grade teacher after graduating from Texas State University (formerly Southwest Texas State). Soon after graduating she decided to pursue a master’s degree in Education while still teaching. After four years in the classroom she took a position as a Technology Facilitator where she spent her time planning and teaching integrated technology lessons with teachers at several schools in the district.

During this time Jennifer was also working on a second master’s in Library and Information Science at the University of Texas at Austin. She subsequently moved to San Antonio and accepted a position as an elementary school librarian for the Northside Independent School District.

Jennifer has been teaching or supporting other teachers and their students for 15 years and was named the 2014-2015 Teacher of the Year for her campus. Jennifer says that being a librarian is by far the most rewarding and satisfying career she has ever held and believes it to be “the best job in the school!”

Resources:

The First Days of School: How to Be an Effective Teacher ,   by Harry Wong

The Read-Aloud Handbook,   by Jim Trelease

Readicide: How Schools Are Killing Reading and What You Can Do About It,   by Kelly Gallager

Contact:

http://lselibrary.weebly.com/all-about-mrs-eckert.html

jennifer.eckert@nisd.net